Interview with a Gamer

Untitled design

The number of guys getting into gaming is gradually increasing. Being in the Digital Age, it should have been expected. Even some girls are in it too. However, the rest of us just don’t understand what the hype is. So I took the matter in my own hands and interviewed some gamers.

I asked some questions about their gaming lifestyle and outlooks. Hopefully, we’ll be able to grasp what gaming is from their perspective. I’ll be posting their interviews per week one at a time.


 

This week’s gamer would be: Lem, 26 years old and single.

Is there a particular reason why you play?

It is a form of stress relief and I enjoy good stories on video games.

What genre are you into?

Beat-em-up spectacle fighters, fighting games, indie games, and Monster Hunter-like cooperative games. I like them mostly because of how they are colorfully presented and the difficulty curve of these games are just perfect for my tastes.

If you can develop your own game, what platform are you going to use and what genre?

I will go with a metroidvania* with a fighting game style of controls and it should be played on a PC.

What game got you started in gaming and what is your game now?

Started playing Super Mario Brothers on the Nintendo family computer and today I play mostly indie titles and high difficulty games.

What kind of games do you usually play?

Arcade game/Coin-op, Console game (PlayStation/Xbox, etc.), Handheld video game (i.e. Game Boy), Personal computer (PC) game

Do you think your gaming habits affect your relationship status? Does gaming help you in the dating scene?

It does not really affect it that much. Well, it could help if both parties are willing to play a game they would like and I think it could help to strengthen their bonds or maybe figure out some sort of personality trait that only gaming can bring out.

Cari’s Comment: This is a nice idea. Girls, we should try playing a game our guy likes (if you’re not already). It can be a new means to bond with your guy PLUS IT WON’T MAKE HIM BORED.

Do you think gaming have helped you in any way? What exactly do gamers like you get out of it?

Video games helped me in understanding the English language. I also learned how everything is not totally black and white and how some actions, how evil it may sound, may be the best solution on some problems and sometimes we must deal with it.

The thrill of exploring new worlds and how a story will turn out is always a great experience for gamers.

Cari’s Comment: Wow. That’s really deep for a game. What games have you been playing Lem? Haha! Understanding the English language through gaming is very interesting. I think English teachers should take note of this. They can AND SHOULD START incorporate gaming to their lessons.

Does gaming affect the way you make decisions in life?

Not really. I do not let it affect the way I make my decisions in life.

Cari’s Comment: This is a very interesting answer. I had this notion that gamers tend to treat real life as if in a game.

What makes you a gamer?

I play a variety of games and I like games in general.

If you can only play one video game for the rest of your life, what would it be and why?

Binding of Isaac* is a great choice because every game will be different or any rouge-likes for that matter.

What’s the longest playing session you’ve ever put in? Do you ever go to bed and see game images playing in your head?

10 hours. I think it happens when you are exposed to a game for that long period of time.

Cari’s Comment: This happens to me every time I play a game too much. I remember I used to see Mario jumping from a cloud to another whenever I close my eyes and try to sleep.

How do you feel about the assertion that violent video games cause behavioral problems in kids?

This is complete BS. I had grown up with video games and I turned out alright (I guess?). But I think those who act violently already had a tendency to be like that and video games does not contribute to any of that.

Cari’s Comment: IMO, parents should stop blaming their negligence to gaming. And I agree that those kids who turn out to be violent, already had that tendency.

What game would you recommend to get someone into gaming?

Something easily digestible like a platformer (Super Mario games) or something with a story and easy-to-understand battle mechanics (Final Fantasy or the JRPG* genre)

Provide a joke or pun that only a gamer would probably understand.

Praise the Sun.

Cari’s Comment: Obviously, I ain’t a gamer. I don’t get this. Haha! Did anyone get this? Please comment below. Help me understand. Thanks!


 

*Metroidvania is a subgenre of the action-adventure video game genre which borrows heavily from the general gameplay concepts of the Metroid series and the Castlevania series (specifically from Castlevania: Symphony of the Night and onward). The genre name is a portmanteau of the two series’ names. (Wikipedia)

*JRPG: Japanese role-playing games (Wikipedia)

*Binding of Isaac: Players control a crying child named Isaac or one of six other unlockable characters. (Wikipedia)

 

 

Leave a Reply

