How to Quit Your Job

I have been wanting to quit my job since last year, and I can’t seem to be able to do so. Not until I read, a post about “just quitting”. After reading that article, I did a little thinking. I prayed and I meditated on it.

And I finally made up my mind and just quit. After I did, there was a sense of relief as if a dagger sticking out my throat had been removed. The depression and anxiety didn’t go entirely but I can feel it lessened.

Today is my last day and I feel so good. I feel free. So how did I find the courage to quit?

1. Meditate on why you want to quit.

Know your reasons. Is quitting the only way to solve your problems? In my case, it’s like God had given me a way out as my partner decided to work and I’ll be the one to stay at home.

I was being bullied at work. Plus,  I am not a very social person. Quitting my job gave me the chance to do online jobs where I do not need to socialize a lot. Plus, I get the freedom to continue running our bakery business.

Whatever your reasons are, make sure you are headed to a better direction. You do not want to be impulsive. Plan it out.

2. Discuss your options with someone you trust.

I am so blessed to have my partner support me in this.

I was so afraid of quitting because I know I needed to eat. I needed to work so I can provide for myself. However, every time I think about quitting, I panic as I know I don’t have any savings as my safety net if I did. He helped me be kinder to myself as he knows I’m on the edge of burnout.

My point is, talk to someone you trust (better if it’s your parents or your partner) and discuss your feelings. Tell them why you want to quit and what you plan to do. What is stopping you from doing so. I’m sure they’ll be more than happy to help you figure things out.

3. Decide when you want to do it.

Once you decide when to quit, trust me, you’ll feel the difference. After handing in my letter, some of the anxiety I have been feeling faded. Hope was bursting from me. I finally had a goal instead of endless days of going to the same old routine of a job.

Even though you aren’t going to quit soon, if you want to, set a date when you’ll finally do it. Set a date when your savings should be enough. Set a goal and make sure it’s achievable.

4. Just quit.

When your set time has come, print the letter, sign it and hand it over. Free yourself from your boring routine and start chasing your dream.

If you want to be a writer, everything you do must be leaning towards being a writer. Showcase your writing skills even if you are just sending an email to your client. If you want to be a chef, everything you do must be helping you become one. When you cook, practice doing what chefs do. Wear a toque if you like. Just make it happen.


I hope I was able to help you with my story. Feel free to share as well as like and follow! ♥

Leave a Reply

