Blog 13/52 Learning a New Language

I think that our minds are destined/scientifically wired to learn new things everyday. And so, I feel like I need to at least learn something new each day.

Learning a new language is difficult. I’m lucky that I learned English as a kid so it comes naturally to me now. I can say that I’m fluent in English. But my mind wants more. It wants to learn more. We all have that craving for new information. When we gossip, it’s because our brains crave for new information. Why not channel that craving into something healthier?

Here’s some languages you can learn online:

1. Spanish

Being a previous colony of the Spaniards, the Filipino language have a lot in common with the Spanish language. Which makes it easier to learn.

You can check out FutureLearn as they teach basic spanish free, or you can look for language apps in the App Store. Real Fast Spanish have a free 5-step course for you to learn Spanish easy.

2. French

We all know that French is the sexiest language. However, it may be one of the hardest languages to learn. You can look online for free language courses. You can also visit BBC’s site where they give free basic online lessons.

3. Japanese

You don’t need to be an Otaku to learn Nihongo. Clayton McKnight’s website aims to help us learn the Japanese language easiest way.

*You may also install the app Duolingo where several languages are being taught, or visit their website at https://www.duolingo.com/. 

4. Code

Of course, you can leave out this new language — the language of programming. There are many online sites that offer free (as well as premium) tutorial services for beginners like us.

There’s SkillCrush, Code.org, SkillShare, CodeCademy and a whole lot more.

You can also visit CodeSkulptor and PythonTutor. (Thanks Dina! Smiling Face With Smiling Eyes on EmojiOne 3.0)

5. Music

This includes singing and dancing as well as playing instruments. There’s a lot of free tutorials that can be found at YouTube. If you have money to spend, you can signup at Udemy where hundreds of people are aching to teach music and dance.


What language are you gonna learn today?

10 thoughts on “Blog 13/52 Learning a New Language

  1. Thanks Cari for the mention! Language learning is a such a wonderful pursuit. If you can stick through the challenging times, it’s all worth the effort in the end.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah yeah, I know the feeling! Life gets in the way a lot, I came back to Python after a long break from it as well. Japanese is currently on the back burner until I get more free time. 😅

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I wanna learn Japanese and French too. Hopefully in the next 5 years. 😂 Also trying to learn code but I just don’t get anything. To think I’m just at html right now. What more when I start with css and python.

        Like

      3. Ah, cool! French is a wonderful language, I studied it in high school (though I’m a bit rusty now, haha). I’ve read that Python is a really beginner friendly language, so that’s why I’ve started with it, instead of other ones. Maybe think about trying it first? 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

