Blog 24/52 My Online Community

Following a breakdown, I felt like I needed some people to talk to and to help me with stuff I wanna achieve. Hence the start of my journey in finding my online community.

I’ve joined some communities that have really helped me reach some of my goals as well as helped me virtually find some good friends.

1. WordPress Blogging Community

 

I found great bloggers here, (particularly @anisakazemi from iaccidentlyatethewholething.com) and seeing their posts inspires me to write more blogs and explore more topics. ❤️

2. NaNoWriMoCampNanoWriMo

shield-nano-side-blue-brown-rgb-hires

I’ve always wanted to write a fantasy book. Thanks to NaNoWriMo, I’m now on the process of doing so.

Now, while I wait for November 2017, Camp NaNoWriMo is here to save me.

camp-2017-event-banner

3. 10 Minute Novelists

I found this Facebook group by accident, but I found some writer friends there (albeit online). I feel happy to have found good souls even from across the globe. I’ve learned here that when you want to write, even 10 minutes is enough.

4. 365 Writing Club

This community is a subgroup of the 10MN. They help me stay on track and try my best to write daily.

I earned last month’s badge for hitting my monthly quota.

Image may contain: cloud, sky and outdoor

It’s a small thing but being rewarded (even though it’s just a badge) for writing a certain number of words excites me.

I virtually met a few cool people here, too.

5. Online Filipino Freelancers

This community had been a great help when I was starting as an online freelancer. Although our views about things weren’t always on the same page, I’ve learned a lot from the members and I’m very thankful.

6. Fandom pages over Facebook, Instagram and Twitter

Since joining these fandom communities, I felt like the real me was freed. I was able to fangirl freely. I didn’t have to hold back because I knew there were other people like me who loves the characters/show/movie/book and understands the need to post/rant about them regularly.

I’ve yet to meet enough people online to fill my online friend capacity. I like that meeting people can now be done at home, or anywhere really. Finding kindred souls is easier now and I dare you to go find people who likes the sames things you do!

#TeamInternet

 

2 thoughts on “Blog 24/52 My Online Community

Leave a Reply

